Today is the day…

So this is it. Today is the day that I leave the U.S.A. for four months to study abroad in Italy.

Am I packed? Sort of. Am I ready? Not at all.

As I sit here on my bed looking at my neatly packed luggage, I can’t help but worry about the trip to Rome… And whether or not my luggage will be safe.  I also can’t help thinking about everything that will happen while I’m gone.

My friend Emily ran her first marathon while I ran my first half-marathon last April. We ran the Chicago half-marathon together and I was waiting at the finish while she completed the Chicago Marathon. She will run a total of two while I’m gone.

I will miss everything happening in ((dop)). It’s amazing that just a few months ago the term meant little more to me than the label on a pair of sunglasses I got for free last school year. I made some new friends this school year that I am going to miss terribly (as well as old friends that have an equally special place in my heart). I just find it so strange that I didn’t know these people five months ago. I was seriously missing out (and you all know you are). These are just a few examples of things that I will miss dearly.

It is likely that there are some people I will not see again. Friends will graduate and move back home or off to pursue new careers. My sisters will continue to grow and amaze me with everything that they accomplish and how they both never cease to surprise me. Loyola’s campus will be completely different when I return, as well as the city as a whole. Change is good. Change is scary. Change is inevitable.

All the while, I will be changing with all of you. Studying abroad is said to change people completely. It will be interesting to see how everything plays out.

That is what lead me to create this blog. I wish to document my life abroad so that I can look back on it and reflect on the changes that took place. Now, I cannot promise that I will update every day, or even every week. But I will do my best.

Well, thank you for taking the time to read this. It means a lot to me and I hope you enjoy my travel stories.

Austin

About Austin Sears

I'm a junior at Loyola University Chicago majoring in sociology and minoring in urban studies and photography. The purpose of this blog is to document my semester abroad in Rome!
This entry was posted in text and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today is the day…

  1. Mary Linna says:

    Austin, you amaze me! Your writing style is – well, I just don’t have words to describe it, but I am blown away! I am so proud of you – for everything you’ve done in life and can’t wait to see what else you are going to accomplish! Kurt and I are both so very proud of you! When we were your age we would’ve been too scared to travel abroad…..once we went to Russia, it was like, “what were we afraid of?” and can’t wait to travel like that again. So glad you were able to do it now while you are so young and hope you can continue to travel like this throughout your life!

Leave a Reply

