Sleeplessness

Well, I have a terrible case of jet lag.

While this may be expected (and also may take me up to one day per time zone difference to fully recover…), it doesn’t make it any less annoying. I almost fell asleep in my “survival Italian” class today, as I went to sleep at 12:30 a.m. and woke up at 4:00 a.m.; I never fell back asleep.

I’m sure this will run its course and then everything will be fine. Hopefully.

All the while, we had a pretty busy day. We signed a bunch of paperwork for our permit to stay, listened to a bunch of people talk about how drinking will get you into trouble, and we were even visited by a woman that works for the American Embassy here in Rome. She offered some typical advise, but also mentioned that the State Department has internships available to undergrads. They target students that study abroad, specifically because they know that people that study abroad in college have to be a certain kind of person to do so. One internship mentioned (my dream internship, if you will) involves living in either Paris or London for the summer and working for an American Embassy. Soooooo cool.

Then we had a “buffet” dinner, which is similar to any other “fancy” event Loyola throws. The only difference this time was that they served wine (none for me, thanks).

And now I am sitting here typing this, hoping that my eyes start to droop so that I may get more than four hours of sleep tonight. Fingers crossed!

About Austin Sears

I'm a junior at Loyola University Chicago majoring in sociology and minoring in urban studies and photography. The purpose of this blog is to document my semester abroad in Rome!
This entry was posted in text and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

