Life Update

This post will be exactly what it sounds like: an update about my life.

Yeah, this is my blog about my life here in Rome. But now I’m talking specifics.

So, I go to class. I’ve been working out in the mornings in the weight room (it’s difficult to run here because it’s so unbelievably hilly… and there’s dog poop EVERYWHERE, since nobody picks it up…) before my classes. Then I go to class. All of my classes are interesting. I LOVE my Italian class for the time being, but I do feel a little bit rusty. I hope it will get better as the semester progresses. My other classes are Voice Lessons, The Immigrant Experience (a literature class… that is writing intensive, but doesn’t count for Core. LAME), and a philosophy class called “Italian Renaissance Philosophy.” I think the philosophy class might be the most difficult, just because the readings take so much time to fully understand. I am really glad to be taking 12 credit hours though. It’s a nice change of pace from my busy life back at Loyola.

In between classes, I often find myself in the library, as we don’t have internet in our rooms. I’m sure this will change eventually. However, this is a good place to go to find your friends. It’s weird living without a cell phone. I definitely miss my Smart Phone. I also eat at the MENSA (our cafeteria) for meals. I generally find myself going straight for the salad bar and completely disregarding the pasta. There is just so much of it here and I got sick of it really fast. I also eat a lot of bread, which I almost never do at home unless it’s a sandwich or something. The fruit here is AMAZING. They cut up blood oranges for you and put them in a tray… So good. I have also been eating a lot of yogurt in flavors like coconut and frutti di bosco (fruit of the forest). They’re both sooo good.

I don’t have that much homework. I have been corresponding with most of my friends via email and Facebook. The internet is such a convenient thing. At the same time, it makes me yearn for home. I’m still not operating on my normal sleep schedule, but at least I’m sleeping. I generally can’t fall asleep until 2:00 A.M., so tomorrow is going to be interesting (read further).

We leave tomorrow for the remainder of our “orientation.” We are going to Pompeii, Sorrento, Herculaneum, and Paestum. It will be about a three hour bus ride. It brings me back to my first trip to Europe while I was still in high school. I went with People to People and we rode in a bus from Rome all the way to the coast of France, where we then took a ferry across the English Channel… and hopped on another bus. It should be a good time, though. I just wish that I wasn’t coming down with a cold and that I had purchased a rain coat/rain boots, as it’s supposed to rain. I’ll be alright though.

Alright, well, I should probably finish packing and get some rest. We have to leave the Rome Center at 6:45 tomorrow… And just FYI, this blog will probably undergo some changes in the coming weeks. I plan to transition to solely a photo blog with brief captions.. That way I can work on my photography skills and it will also take the stress off of writing these posts.

I hope everyone reading is doing well!

About Austin Sears

I'm a junior at Loyola University Chicago majoring in sociology and minoring in urban studies and photography. The purpose of this blog is to document my semester abroad in Rome!
This entry was posted in text and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Update

  1. dilek says:

    first of all, i love your blog!
    yea the italian cuisine is one of my favorites.. and my advice to you is don’t get fat! πŸ™‚
    p.s: plz don’t stop writing posts, be sure that photos will not be enough because your writing style is fantastic πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

